Party Purity Proposal?

So Republicans may see fit to confirm the media’s favorite stereotype of the moment: They are all a bunch of extremists purists who will drive themselves to extinction (If we wish for it hard enough it will come true!). The deal is that they have a list where you must agree with eight out of ten points (I agree with all of them as far as I can see) in line with Reagan’s “An 80% friend is not a 20% enemy”.

Three issues with this list: Firstly, as much of a purist as I am, I don’t think it is a good idea to have an actual test. Secondly, if Reagan had said 60-40 it would be done that way, but 80-20 isn’t a magic threshold, it’s arbitrary. If the whole basis of this threshold is a quote from Reagan, maybe there really is something wrong with us. I’m one to talk of course! The third issue is this: It is incomplete. The big shock: NO MENTION OF ABORTION AT ALL????

Here’s my check list, Listen closely GOP leaders:

  1. Life
  2. Liberty
  3. Property

Period.

Comments Off on Party Purity Proposal?

Filed under Conservatism, Republicans

Comments are closed.